On Stage


by Qui Nguyen

November 14 - November 23
Ruth Caplin Theatre

The UVA Department of Drama will continue its 2019-2020 season with Qui Nguyen’s She Kills Monsters, opening November 14 in the Ruth Caplin Theatre, and directed by UVA Drama Artistic Director Marianne Kubik.

She Kills Monsters is a deep and fascinating dive into the world of fantasy role-playing games. It tells the story of Agnes Evans as she copes with the accidental death of her teenage sister, Tilly. When Agnes finds Tilly’s Dungeons & Dragons design module, she stumbles into an action-packed adventure inside Tilly’s imaginary refuge from her adolescent experience, finding herself on an unexpected hero’s quest. The play, from acclaimed young playwright Qui Nguyen, is a high-octane adventure that serves as an homage to the geek and warrior within us all, and a surprisingly sweet tale of friendship, loss, and acceptance.

“The Drama Department has considered this intricate script for a number of years,” Kubik said, “and now READ MORE